National standards for volunteer involvement

Rate this resource
(0 votes)

The national standards provide what is effectively a checklist of what organisations need to put in place to manage volunteers well and successfully

This is a brilliant resource to review how you manage your volunteers or understand what best practice is. There are 8 standards addressing the key areas of volunteer involvement:
1. Leadership and management
2. Commitment to volunteer involvement
3. Volunteer roles
4. Recruitment and selection
5. Support and development
6. Workplace safety and wellbeing
7. Volunteer recognition
8. Quality management and continuous improvement

Each standard contains the intent of the standard, a statement that defines the scope of the standard and the criteria against which the level of achievement of that standard can be assessed. It provides the content of the National Standards and details of the types of practices and evidence that an organisation might need to meet the standards.

The webpage notes that a 4 hour training is available from the local volunteering peak. The webpage also includes an online Self-Assessment Tool which is a tailored version of Standards & Performance Pathways (SPP), a leading Australian online service for the completion of service and quality standards, compliance activities, and for managing risk and quality performance.

Resource Information

  • Author: Volunteering Australia - with initial development by CEO's of volunteering SA, NT, Tasmania & WA
  • Date: 2015
  • Target Audience: Tactical level (senior management, corporate services)
  • Access to Item is free?: Yes
  • Type of Resource: Template